The adventure starts when plans end…

Where to start, where to start. We have been on the road for officially 1 week today. It honestly seems like we left a months ago because of: 1. lack of sleep 2. time zone changes 3. unexpected events 4. traveling around 1,500 miles in separate cars. Well, I guess I should start with the night we pulled out of our previous house in West Virginia. Let me tell you that Jake and I both woke up that day nervous wrecks, not because of the traveling, but because of how much we still had to downsize and pack. We did it though! We successfully fit all of our belongings, 1 cats, 2 dogs and ourselves into a small trailer, my SUV and the back cab of Jake’s truck! We, by we I mean Jake, also pulled the house out of the drive way, up the incline of the road and out of Buffalo Lake as smooth as I have ever seen anyone drive!

The men lowering the house down onto the hitch of the truck. I was told
The men lowering the house down onto the hitch of the truck. I was told “not to go back near them”, but I needed a quick picture!
The dogs and cat were all so afraid we were going to leave them. Jack refused to move from the suitcase no matter how many times we moved her. The dogs freaked out every time we walked away from the main driveway...barking and
The dogs and cat were all so afraid we were going to leave them. Jack refused to move from the suitcase no matter how many times we moved her. The dogs freaked out every time we walked away from the main driveway…barking and “talking”.
Acadia decided he needed to be carried to the car.
Acadia decided he needed to be carried to the car.
I needed my mom in the car with me for moral support since this was the first time I was pulling the loaded trailer! The big baby decided he needed to be on her lap.
I needed my mom in the car with me for moral support since this was the first time I was pulling the loaded trailer! The big baby decided he needed to be on her lap.
Successfully up the hill!
Successfully up the hill!
The trailer I am pulling.
The trailer I am pulling.
The whole parade!
The whole parade!
Mom and the pups relaxing after the drive to the end of buffalo lake. We stayed here for the night, so that we could get the house weighed in the morning and not have to pull it down by the lake with traffic.
Mom and the pups relaxing after the drive to the end of buffalo lake. We stayed here for the night, so that we could get the house weighed in the morning and not have to pull it down by the lake with traffic.

We woke up the next morning and took the house to be weighed. We were under the towing capacity for the truck, so we were ready to hit the open road!

Well, after we got the back house trailer light fixed and my dashboard light fuse fixed...then we were ready to hit the road!
Well, after we got the back house trailer light fixed and my dashboard light fuse fixed…then we were ready to hit the road!

The First Week of Traveling

  • Number of New Cars: 1

    We made it a total of 40-50 miles before my SUV overheated and we made the executive decision to trade it in for a new vehicle. Thank goodness we did not make it very far before this happened. My dad came to the rescue...driving down from Pittsburgh to go with Jake to trade it the car, go get loans money from State Farm and back and forth till the whole process was finished. What a saint. The dogs and I stayed in a parking lot behind a gas station for ~6 hours while this ordeal was occurring.
    We made it a total of 40-50 miles before my SUV overheated and we made the executive decision to trade it in for a new vehicle. Thank goodness we did not make it very far before this happened. My dad came to the rescue…driving down from Pittsburgh to go with Jake to trade it the car, go get loans money from State Farm and back and forth till the whole process was finished. What a saint. The dogs and I stayed in a parking lot behind a gas station for ~6 hours while this ordeal was occurring.
  • Number of Flat Tires: 1

    Not even 24 hours after the new car purchase a pothole on a bridge took the life of one of our house tires. Thank goodness we were passing an exit with a great repair shop.
    Not even 24 hours after the new car purchase a pothole on a bridge took the life of one of our house tires. Thank goodness we were passing an exit with a great repair shop.
  • Number of time we missed a potentially dangerous natural disaster due to the above circumstances: 1
    • If not for the car overheating and the flat tire delaying us 1 day, we would have been in Sioux Falls, South Dakota when they had a flash flood. This flood caused cars to float away and many roads to be closed. Thank god. See, everything happens for a reason. We arrive in Sioux Falls the day after the flood and it was beautiful!
  • Places we have slept:
    • Evan’s Auto Repair Shop parking lotwpid-20150824_082906.jpg
    • Rest Stop Parking Lotswpid-20150825_074639.jpgwpid-20150826_200756.jpgwpid-20150827_201809.jpg
    • Behind a Kum and Go (yes, this really is a name of a gas station chain.)wpid-20150827_175629.jpg
    • KOA’s in Sioux Falls and Spearfish South Dakotawpid-20150828_153711.jpg
  • Ranking of rest stops from best to worst, by state:
    • Indiana
    • Iowa
    • Illinois
    • Ohio
    • South Dakota…this state is last because, while the have clean bathrooms, they did not allow trucks or RVs to stay more than 3 hours at a time. So, no sleeping at rest stops in this state folks.
    • Nebraska…I did not include this one in the rating system, because we were only in the state for a short stretch and did not use a rest area.
  • Places we have visited:
    • Sioux Falls, South Dakotawpid-20150828_164128.jpg
    • Spearfish Canyon, South Dakotawpid-20150831_115358.jpgwpid-20150831_120130.jpg
    • Custer State Park, South Dakotawpid-20150830_145714.jpg
      Needles Eye
      Needles Eye

      One of the 5 passes we had to go through...thank goodness the tiny house was safe at the KOA.
      One of the 5 passes we had to go through…thank goodness the tiny house was safe at the KOA.
    • Mount Rushmore National Monumentwpid-20150830_130439.jpeg
    • Crazy Horse Monumentwpid-20150830_140102.jpeg
    • Black Hills National Parkwpid-20150830_182514.jpg
    • Badlands National Parkwpid-20150831_160229-2.jpgwpid-20150831_151052.jpg
  • Types of wildlife we have encountered:
    • Elk

      Balls it was large and in charge
      Balls it was large and in charge
    • Buffalo
      Right in front of the truck!
      Right in front of the truck!

      Buffalo traffic jam
      Buffalo traffic jam
    • Prairie Dogs….I must have not uploaded my pictures of these, but they are adorable and everywhere. Jake also informed me that farmers have a special vacuum tool to suck them up out of their holes, because cattle trip in their holes and get injured/die. I hate this fact.
    • Pronhorns

      wpid-20150830_170337.jpg
      Formerly known to me as antelope
    • Big Horn Sheep
      Chillin'
      Chillin’

      All I have wanted to see was a Mountain Goat on the side of a rock. The sheep will suffice. It was incredible.
      All I have wanted to see was a Mountain Goat on the side of a rock. The sheep will suffice. It was incredible.
    • Mountain Goats…I don’t know where this picture is either.
    • Bears

      This one reminded me of Acadia.
      This one reminded me of Acadia.
    • Deer. You know what deer look like.
    • Wild Horses

      Kya was having stare offs with them from my lap in the front seat.
      Kya was having stare offs with them from my lap in the front seat.
  • Number of times I have smacked my head off of the ceiling in the bedroom: 5
  • Things I have ate that I never thought I would. And actually liked them: 1

    Jake convinced me to try a buffalo burger! I loved it! If you know me you know I do not like a lot of meat, just the texture gets to me, not the whole eating an animal bit. But, buffalo was lean and delicious!
    Jake convinced me to try a buffalo burger! I loved it! If you know me you know I do not like a lot of meat, just the texture gets to me, not the whole eating an animal bit. But, buffalo was lean and delicious!
  • Number of states we have traveled through: 7

    wpid-20150830_105201.jpeg
    I cannot for the life of me get this image to rotate. So, turn your phone or computer and imagine it. Also, my parents have been mapping this for us…if you can count you only see 6 states that we went through so far. We actually went from Iowa into Nebraska, past Omaha and up to South Dakota. So, it is 7 states!
  • The crazy animals:
    Drivin'
    Drivin’
    Staring down wild horses.
    Staring down wild horses.

    wpid-20150830_190649.jpgwpid-20150831_184158.jpgwpid-20150831_172242.jpgwpid-20150831_192511.jpg

    My co-pilot
    Getting a talking to about moving around in the car and hitting the gear shift to neutral.
    My dad told me that in this picture they were preparing to
    My dad told me that in this picture they were preparing to “have each other’s backs to protect each other from bears.”
    Peepin' at the views
    Peepin’ at the views
    My co-pilot
    My co-pilot
    Jake's co-pilot.
    Jake’s co-pilot.
    Jack in the kitchen...making her self at home...everywhere in the house.
    Jack in the kitchen…making her self at home…everywhere in the house.

    Don't worry, Jack was in the car for the first day with Acadia and I. She was miserable. She hates the car and meows the entire time. So, she has been in the tiny house loving life 24/7 since the first day.
    Don’t worry, Jack was in the car for the first day with Acadia and I. She was miserable. She hates the car and meows the entire time. So, she has been in the tiny house loving life 24/7 since the first day.
  • Number of bags of dog food we got for free and lost: 1

    This wonderfully kind woman drove up to the house when we were recovering from the flat tire in a parking lot and was so excited about the tiny house! She then drove home and got us a bag of dog food for the dogs, because she was incredibly kind and worked for a dog food company. Unfortunatly, the bag got wet during a rain storm. When Jake went to pick it up the bottom fell out and I fell to the ground laughing. We salvaged what we could and they ate the rest from the ground! Thank you again Ange!
    This wonderfully kind woman drove up to the house when we were recovering from the flat tire in a parking lot and was so excited about the tiny house! She then drove home and got us a bag of dog food for the dogs, because she was incredibly kind and worked for a dog food company. Unfortunately, the bag got wet during a rain storm. When Jake went to pick it up the bottom fell out and I fell to the ground laughing. We salvaged what we could and they ate the rest from the ground! Thank you again Ange!
  • Number of wonderfully kind people we have met: too many to count.
    • From the lovely lady mentioned above, to truckers helping us with routes, to couples at the RV parks with information of things to see, to a couple loaning us their “grade” book so we could pick our “pass” into Kalispell, to the kind man who gave us a pressure water gauge “because I have another”. Everyone has been so nice and very inquisitive about the house! I will say this…the farther west we get the more people know what a tiny house is!!

We are leaving our restful 3 days at the KOA in Spearfish, South Dakota tomorrow morning. We hope to be in Kalispell by the weekend! Until next time!

3 thoughts on “The adventure starts when plans end…

  1. So glad I met you both! I finally got to see a Tiny House! I think the kitchen is probably my favorite part…love it. Great photo’s of the journey too! And..you’re very welcome for the dog food!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

