From the windows to the WALLS

Shew. This week can be summed up in one word: whirlwind. Jake and I both had our last days at our full time jobs. Now these weren’t just wake up and “ugh I have to go to work again” jobs. We loved our jobs, the patients we treated and the people that we worked with. Both of us were blessed to find jobs right after graduation that we truly loved. So, as much as it absolutely sucks to leave these jobs and our friends in West Virginia, we are so lucky to have such amazing people and jobs to miss.

Jake's work had him wear a cowboy hat and bandana while he opened his gifts. He doesn't know that I acquired this picture ;)
Jake’s work had him wear a cowboy hat and bandana while he opened his gifts. He doesn’t know that I acquired this picture 😉
My wonderfully ridiculous friends at work
My wonderfully ridiculous friends at work

Anyways, enough with the sappy crap…onto the adventure story of the week! So, my good friend from occupational therapy school married his high school sweetheart this past weekend in Pittsburgh, PA. Unfortunately, Jake had to work on the house… so I was riding solo to the wedding, with my best friend and her fiancé meeting me there. On the way up my car started acting strange..making loud noises when I stepped on the gas, as if the engine was truly struggling to move the car. Then my engine started to overheat. Mind you this has happened only one other time…on the way to this beautiful brides wedding shower haha. So, I pull over on the highway freaking out, calling Jake. I finally got the nerve to drive to the next exit going like 45 mph, because my car literally would not go faster. I found a funeral home (perfect setting) and turned off the car to let it cool down. The whole time I am sitting there I am thinking “WTF I have to drive this car to the wedding still…WAIT, really WTF I have to drive this car out west NEXT WEEK!!”. My best friend and her fiancé were wonderful enough to turn around completely from the direction they had been going, backtrack, and come to follow me so I wouldn’t be alone. After cooling down, I made it another 30 min to my grandparents, where they were so kind as to let me borrow their car for the night. The next day when I came back to get my car my lovely German friend and her boyfriend (who were staying with my grandparents) took a look at my car and determined that my oil was REALLY low. We went down to the nearest mechanics and that kind man gave us oil for free and I was able to get back to WV in one piece. DISCLAIMER TO ALL FREAKED OUT FAMILY MEMBERS: calm down, the car is getting a full check and fully serviced today as I write this, so this will not be happening when we drive out west next week. LESSON OF THE WEEK: Have a pretty female, blonde, foreign friend who happens to know about cars and who you can take to the mechanics to get you free oil 😉 THANK YOU Claudia and Toby!

Congratulations to my beautiful friends, Kate and Jarrod!
Congratulations to my beautiful friends, Kate and Jarrod!

Seventh Week Of Construction Lessons

  1. Think outside the box. A tree standing in our yard at this time last year, is now our countertops.
    Cutting and gluing them to fit together!
    Cutting and gluing them to fit together!

    Sanding the counter tops!
    Sanding the counter tops!
  2. Don’t freak out when things “change” from the plan you had in your head.

    The bathtub faucet was supposed to come out of the wall at the end of the tub; however, the beautiful faucet that I drooled over and Jake surprised me with needed to be anchored into a tub side in a normal tub  (wood in this case). Oh well, it will looks good and we now solved the storage problem in the shower by building a cedar shelf in the corner behind the faucet.
    The bathtub faucet was supposed to come out of the wall at the end of the tub; however, the beautiful faucet that I drooled over and Jake surprised me with needed to be anchored into a tub side in a normal tub (wood in this case). Oh well, it will looks good and we now solved the storage problem in the shower by building a cedar shelf in the corner behind the faucet.
  3. When the walls go in, the house gets smaller..if that is possible.

    Bathroom walls going up!
    Bathroom walls going up!
  4. Steps are a necessity. Both inside and outside.

    The step down into the house. We are going to have pull out drawers under this for the dogs bowls..Jack's will be in the kitchen under the cabinets.
    The step down into the house. We are going to have pull out drawers under this for the dogs bowls..Jack’s will be in the kitchen under the cabinets.
  5. Leave the construction site for 1 day and come home. It’s a new world!
    Bathroom!
    Bathroom!
    Walls in the main living space
    Walls in the main living space
    view up into our bedroom loft. The back of the loft will be covered in pallet wood and will be the inside of my closet.
    view up into our bedroom loft. The back of the loft will be covered in pallet wood and will be the inside of my closet.

    Utility closet started!
    Utility closet started!
  6. Be nice to home depot workers.

    The rest of the cedar siding came in early!!
    The rest of the cedar siding came in early!!
  7. Always order more supplies than you expect to use. This is beginning to feel redundant when I type it.

    It looks beautiful still. But if you look at the guest loft in the back of this picture you see that it is not white washed tongue and groove like the rest of the house. We were short boards. Luckily, there were extra old pieces in the barn from when Jake and his dad/brother build their grandma's house that we currently live in! It may be staying that way or it may be whitewashed..decisions, descisions.
    It looks beautiful still. But if you look at the guest loft in the back of this picture you see that it is not white washed tongue and groove like the rest of the house. We were short boards. Luckily, there were extra old pieces in the barn from when Jake and his dad/brother build their grandma’s house that we currently live in! It may be staying that way or it may be whitewashed..decisions, descisions.
  8. Cute color accents are key.

    The finished tiny couch with the pillows!
    The finished tiny couch with the pillows!
  9. Jake actually loves Jack, or maybe just loves me and I love Jack.

    Kitty in a tiny box! Jake surprised me and informed me that the shelving system in the living area will connect the two lofts and Jack will have a
    Kitty in a tiny box! Jake surprised me and informed me that the shelving system in the living area will connect the two lofts and Jack will have a “tunnel access” into our loft wall that is going to be Jake’s closet…this way she will be able to get from loft-to-loft without getting having to go down! Aw.
  10. The porch was a GREAT idea.

    Everybody loves the porch :)
    Everybody loves the porch 🙂

AH, so even though we already know that there certain things that are not going to be finished till we get out to Montana…we are going to have a basically finished house by this weekend! I am freaking out. Both with excitement and knowing that the time crunch is now upon us! Our estimated departing date is now Friday August 21st, the day after my birthday 🙂

2 thoughts on “From the windows to the WALLS

Leave a Reply

