Cedar Smells Amazing

Our house is beginning to actually look like a house! This week the internal stuff that takes forever and you never see was all finished being run through the walls (electric, plumbing, cable, gas lines) and the ports (I don’t know what they are really called) were installed on the outside of the house, so we can hook up to water/electric until we go “off the grid”. The siding was also put on!! It looks amazing and turned out better than I pictured in my head, of course Jake says that it turned out exactly the way that he pictured it in his head. You see, this is where we differ. I am a very kinesthetic and spatial learner, while Jake is verbal and logical. I need to physically see something for it to make sense and Jake can just talk about it and see it in his head like it is right in front of him. This makes it very difficult when he is trying to explain some idea that he has to me and I just stare back at him blankly. Along with being very difficult, this is also very common…especially when it comes to space saving ideas for the house, which there are lots of. One idea in particular that he was attempting to explain to me this past week, was the pull system for the guest loft ladder. We decided we wanted to upcycle a pully system from an old barn into the house. Jake came up with an idea of how to attach the ladder to the pull, so when we are not using the guest loft/tv area we can “pull” it up and out of the way. This idea is great for space saving; however, I had to have him explain it like 5 times while standing in the house and I still have no idea how it works or where the ladder is being pulled to. I told him I understood the last time he explained it, because I could tell he was getting frustrated with me and honestly when he reads this he will not be surprised in the least haha.

Fifth Week of Construction Lessons

  1. Belts OBVIOUSLY are to be used to keep up basketball shorts 😉

    Jackson carrying wood for the fire!
    Jackson carrying wood for the fire!
  2. Just when you think something is “finished”, it’s not.
    I leave these two along for a minute and they stop working to talk ;)
    I leave these two along for a minute and they stop working to talk 😉

    White washing MORE boards. For inside trim this time!...also we had to do the ends of the ones we did last time, because they are going to show in some places when they are put up.
    White washing MORE boards. For inside trim this time!…also we had to do the ends of the ones we did last time, because they are going to show in some places when they are put up.
  3. I STILL need to master the art of looking like I am doing something while I am not.

    Goodness he is the master of this ;) Just kidding I know keeping up with the kiddos is a job in itself!
    Goodness he is the master of this 😉 Just kidding I know keeping up with the kiddos is a job in itself!
  4. I should contract out to polyurethane for others. I might just be that good now.
    Ignore that horrid face. Coating the sink countertop!
    Ignore that horrid face. Coating the sink countertop!
    Looks excellent if I do say so myself!
    Looks excellent if I do say so myself!

    Mom and I polyurethaned all of the exposed roof rafters.
    Mom and I polyurethaned all of the exposed roof rafters.
  5. The pups are spoiled.
    Chillin' by the fire.
    Chillin’ by the fire.
    Belly rubs.
    Belly rubs.
    Sleeping with their dad.
    Sleeping with their dad.

    Escaping the heat to cool off under the tiny house!
    Escaping the heat to cool off under the tiny house!
  6. Standing on grass is much better for your legs than standing on pavement.
    Poor don needs grass to stand on. Cutting boards all day in one place = lots of pain and stiffness in his legs! He was a trooper though!
    Poor don needs grass to stand on. Cutting boards all day in one place = lots of pain and stiffness in his legs! He was a trooper though!

    Putting up the siding!
    Putting up the siding!
  7. Neck Straps for glasses should be required on a construction site.
    I swear I heard my Dad asking where his glasses were AT LEAST 10x this past weekend.
    I swear I heard my Dad asking where his glasses were AT LEAST 10x this past weekend.
    Front siding going up!
    Front siding going up!
    Back siding!
    Back siding!

    Side siding!
    Side siding!
  8. Saw dust provides another layer of sun protection.

    Mom became a sanding expert this weekend! so much so that Dad has recruted her for projects at their house!
    Mom became a sanding expert this weekend! so much so that Dad has recruted her for projects at their house!
  9. Always over order supplies. Always over order supplies.
    Siding almost finished!
    Siding almost finished!
    Possible hot water heater or storage box on the side (back when we are pulling it).
    Possible hot water heater or storage box on the side (back when we are pulling it).
    Try as they might, we were short siding.
    Try as they might, we were short siding.

    The top of the front and back, as well as some of the one side are not sided. Blah. We ordered more, but it will not be in for
    The top of the front and back, as well as some of the one side are not sided. Blah. We ordered more, but it will not be in for “at least” another week 😦 Oh well, on to other things!
  10. To save money, make your own bathroom tub and sink!
    Bathroom sink!
    Bathroom sink!

    Bathroom shower/tub!
    Bathroom shower/tub!
Leave a Reply

