Cabinets, electric and plumbing…OH MY!

We have a beautiful kitchen. We have a beautiful kitchen! WE HAVE A BEAUTIFUL KITCHEN!! I can’t stop walking into the house and staring at it. The cabinets turned out exactly the way I had envisioned them in my head thanks to Jake for designing the layout and my dad for placing all of the orders/putting them together! Jeeze la wheeze though, I am jumping the gun. A crap ton of stuff happened before those beautiful cabinets made their way into our kitchen this weekend.

First off, something I never thought would be difficult has turned into one of our greatest feats to overcome….insurance. Companies can’t insure our house as an RV,because it’s not technically an RV. Then wait, they can’t insure it as a house, because it is on wheels. Oh, wait they may be able to insure the trailer itself, but not anything on the trailer. Or another idea was maybe they could insure our belongings under renters insurance since we are not grounded, OH snap they can’t because we are not renters and this is our permanent address. Woof. Seriously a pain in my rear end. There is no way we can drive 2,800 miles with our house without insuring our house. Then we found the holy grail. There is small company out of Washington that solely insures tiny houses…yes, the west coast is far more advanced in the tiny house movement. However, as of the lastest update we found they only insured in a few west coast states..obviously West Virginia was not on the list. I scoured the internet and found a blog about this specific insurance and found out that they recently got approved to insure in 48 states. Of course it did not list which ones, but there was a long form to fill out and we are submitting that to the insurance company. FINGERS CROSSED!

Forth Week of Construction Lessons

  1. Our dogs are the coolest.
    Kya overseeing the yard from the top of the siding pile.
    Kya overseeing the yard from the top of the siding pile.

    They get along with all dogs. No matter how big or how small. We have had Jake's parents dog and our friend's dog over the past 2 weeks and they loved them!
    They get along with all dogs. No matter how big or how small. We have had Jake’s parents dog and our friend’s dog over the past 2 weeks and they loved them!
  2. I literally don’t know when my dad sleeps. If he sleeps at all.
    Helping Dad put the doors on.
    Helping Dad put the doors on.

    He came down Thurdsay morning to unload the shipment. Put together all of the cabinets Friday, then worked and had to write an annual report. Installed all of the cabinets Saturday. Worked on the house till 4pm on Sunday. Then drove to his annual work conference and did not arrive there till around 1 am Monday morning. Best dad award.
    He came down Thursday morning to unload the shipment. Put together all of the cabinets Friday.Went back to write a report for work. Came back and worked on the house all day Saturday. Then installed the cabinets and worked on the house till 4pm Sunday. Then drove to his annual work conference and did not arrive there till around 1 am Monday Morning. Best dad award.
  3. Plumbing, electric and gas lines make no sense to me. I knew I had no clue about them before; however, I had no idea to what extent.
    Plumbing lines. Red = hot and Blue = cold. I got that much.
    Plumbing lines. Red = hot and Blue = cold. I got that much.
    Putting in something wirey.
    Putting in something wirey.

    Literally, right over my head. After attempting on multiple occasions to answer my 3472389472 questions about them, I think Jake needed a stiff drink.
    Literally, right over my head. After attempting on multiple occasions to answer my 3472389472 questions about them, I think Jake needed a stiff drink.
  4. Self-timer is key for the blogger. Between all of the other tasks to be completed this weekend, no one was ever around to take pictures of me actually doing work!
Sanding the reclaimed sliding door track from an old barn that we are using for the bathroom door!
Sanding the reclaimed sliding door track from an old barn that we are using for the bathroom door!
Removing years of grout, molding and multiple layers of different paint to make frames for our wedding pictures!  Fun Fact: These were the windows from Jake's bedroom in the house he lived in when he was little!
Removing years of grout, molding and multiple layers of different paint to make frames for our wedding pictures!
Fun Fact: These were the windows from Jake’s bedroom in the house he lived in when he was little!

5. Cutting insulation involves a lot of measurements. If you haven’t noticed I hate anything involving numbers. Thank goodness for the Dads!

Cutting insulation for the kitchen!
Cutting insulation for the kitchen!

6. With expensive items, shut your mouth and close your eyes!

Trying to be helpful and telling them to watch out for this and that...apparently this is more annoying than helpful.
Trying to be helpful and telling them to watch out for this and that…apparently this is more annoying than helpful.
When you money is being cut into close your eyes. Trust me just do it.
When your money is being cut into close your eyes. Trust me just do it.

7. Colored cabinets have been my ultimate best choice in the tiny house thus far.

Dad installing the cabinets.
Dad installing the cabinets.
Love.
Love.
Perfecto! And surprising not a tight a fit between them as I envisioned. If nothing else the house help to keep us in shape, or else we won't be able to fit!
Perfecto! And surprising not a tight a fit between them as I envisioned. If nothing else the house help to keep us in shape, or else we won’t be able to fit!

8. Surprises are the best. Jake walked me through the house last night showing me all of the outlet and light switch placements to get my input. During the “tour” I found out that the sink “that was impossible to fit, we are just going to have to double the bathtub as a sink” is now a reality! YAY!

9. Tiny house composting toilets. That’s all. Wait till you see this thing. Half of you are going to think we have officially lost it.

One thought on “Cabinets, electric and plumbing…OH MY!

  1. Hey, guys…
    Love it, love it, love it! What a beautiful job you’re doing! Enjoy the posts! I, for one, have a passion for self composting toilets! Remember… In the next blog, I want details ! I love you both!
    Dale

    Like

Leave a Reply

