July 4th Family Build!

First off I wanted to introduce Jack, our cat, because we do actually have a cat and I didn’t just name the blog that. She is just camera shy because of weight issues.

This is Jack. She does exist and she is freaking adorable.
This is Jack. She does exist and she is freaking adorable.

Also, the chickens did survive the flood! I kind of left that as a cliff hanger in the other blog entry! They are actually getting adopted by Jakes mom’s friend who read about them on this blog!

Our nephew checking on the chickens this weekend.
Our nephew checking on the chickens this weekend.

Back to reality…holy moly we have a tiny house that actually resembles a house now! This past week has been filled with hours and hours of hard work, sweat and adult beverages.  Between working our full time jobs and working on the house every night things have been super crazy! To stay on the topic of crazy I have a tiny house reaction story to share. For those of you that don’t know, I am a pediatric occupational therapist.  Well, one day I asked one of the kiddos if they knew what a tiny house was and the conversation went as follows:
Me: So, do you know what a tiny house is?
Kid: Ya, I have seen them on t.v.
Me: What do you think of them?
Kid: They’re pretty small.
Me: What if I told you my friend was building a tiny house and living in it with her 2 dogs, a cat and her husband?
Kid: Well, your friend is crazy.
🙂

Second Week of Construction Lessons
1. The best time to stand on ladders and use power tools to put on the roof is obviously during a torrential downpour.

image

image

2. The best way to help with the building part is to leave the construction zone completely.

image
Productive leaving: going to the fabric store to get all of the materials to make the couch and finish the guest room quilt!
image
Semi-Productive Leaving: Going to Batton Hallow Winery since it is close to the house and we had to go talk up the tiny house to someone!

3. I can start a fire in the amount of time it takes to put on one wall of plywood.

image
First piece of plywood on!
image
I impress myself and my husband sometimes!
image
Toth men family picture.

4. You can work out in a tiny house.

image
Pull ups from the guest loft rafters.
Push ups on the living room floor. Plenty of room!
Push ups on the living room floor. Plenty of room!

5. Plywood takes longer to put up than it does to white wash wood.

image
My mom and I hard at work. Jackson asking for paint to paint the outside of the tiny house.
Jackson
Jackson “painting” our house.
image
My sister-in-law and mother-in-law hard at work laying the boards to dry on the dog kennel. We are running out of room to put building materials!
Obviously we needed the tent over us because we are white and burn in .2 seconds.
Obviously we needed the tent over us because we are white and burn in .2 seconds.
Still putting up plywood.
Still putting up plywood.
Done!!
Done!!

6. Our house is going to look adorable with children in it.

Just hanging out the bathroom window with our niece and nephew.
Just hanging out the bathroom window with our niece and nephew.
I mean seriously? I don't even care that it wasn't me who got carried over the threshold to our house first.
I mean seriously? I don’t even care it wasn’t me who got carried over the threshold to our house first.
Even enjoying beverages in the house is cuter with them.
Even enjoying beverages in the house is cuter with them.

7. Tiny house windows are the perfect height for self-timer group pictures.

The Toth/Triscuit clan minus my sister and her Jake.
The Toth/Triscuit clan minus my sister and her Jake.

8. Don’t mention to the guys with the power tools that the house wrap is on upside down. Trust me, just don’t do it.

Wrapping up the house!
Wrapping up the house!
In case you think that's duct tape, its not. I also asked that :/
In case you think that’s duct tape, its not. I also asked that :/

wpid-20150705_162617.jpg9. Dogs love running around tiny houses. This could be a potential problem. We will worry about this another time.

Kya and Acadia helping dad figure out windows.
Kya and Acadia helping dad figure out windows.
Kya trying to find me because I climbed up into the loft.
Kya trying to find me because I climbed up into the loft.
The view from our bedroom loft.
The view from our bedroom loft.
Out of the house, helping with the siding!
Out of the house, helping with the siding!

10. A big porch, yard, and driveway are a must for building.

It's a complicated walk in and out of the house.
It’s a complicated walk in and out of the house.
We are running out of room.
We are running out of room.

11. “A tiny house is a tiny house, but I need to learn to call it our house and drop the tiny”–> Jake.

Our beautifully wrapped house with some of the windows installed!
Our beautifully wrapped house with some of the windows installed!

We had such a great weekend and met the “building goal”. We were  lucky enough that most of our family members were able to come and join the fun! Oh! Lesson #11: Tell people there will be food and drinks provided if they come help build. Works every time 😉

Laying the floor, installing electric, finishing the guest room quilt and finishing installing  the windows are on the plan for this week! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

