The Calm Before The Storm…Literally.

These past couple of weeks have been spent with Jake and I trying to get as much as possible done before the trailer was ready to be picked up in Florida, yes you read that right FLORIDA.

Planing the hemlock, that we got from an old barn that was being torn down, to make our floor boards!
Planing the hemlock, that we got from an old barn that was being torn down, to make our floor boards!
Cutting the insulation for the floor! The pups are SO excited for the tiny house they are always around the hustle and bustle.
Cutting the insulation for the floor! The pups are SO excited for the tiny house they are always around the hustle and bustle.

Bless my husband, because that wonderful man had to fly to Montana for an interview and after a difficult/delayed trip home at 2:30am he and his dad began the drive from Pittsburgh airport to Florida to pick up the foundation for our tiny house.  Which by the way they did in ~1 day because Jake had to be back to work..shew.

Jake and his dad made it to Florida and hooked up the trailer to bring back to West Virginia to begin the build!
Jake and his dad made it to Florida and hooked up the trailer to bring back to West Virginia to begin the build! Tumbleweed trailers rocks!

While this was happening I was left home to man the home front. One of the weekend nights Jake was gone my mom randomly text me to see if I needed help packing and decided to come down for the night. Thank goodness she did, because not only did she help me downsize my clothes to fit into the tiny house, she also helped me save the building supplies and a chicken from the flooding that occurred that night!

My favorite chicken was trapped way on the left side of the coop standing on her water dish! She had to be rescued from the coop river.
My favorite chicken was trapped way on the left side of the coop standing on her water dish! She had to be rescued from the coop river.
My mom and I carried all of this wood from a concrete pad that was now part of the creek  to dry land!
My mom and I carried all of this wood from a concrete pad that was now flooded all the way to the driveway!

After that fiasco and Jake finally made it back we didn’t waste any time. We put the insulation into the trailer for the floor. Jake’s parents came over and we got the trailer moved to the build site on the driveway in front of the house.  Then Jake and his dad had to level the trailer to to prep for building which was to begin the next day (TODAY!).

Installing the insulation...see I DO help!
Installing the insulation…see I DO help!

As I type this sitting in Jake’s parents kitchen (where I have internet and a washer–> 2 things we WILL have in the tiny house that we do not have now!) Jake, his dad, my dad, and my dad’s friend Paul are starting to build OUR TINY HOUSE! The construction has officially begun!

2 thoughts on “The Calm Before The Storm…Literally.

Leave a Reply

