The Brains Behind The Operation

For those of you that know my husband and I at all, you know that I am clearly not the brains behind this operation. None of this would be possible without Jake and research/knowledge base. Over the past month we have spent countless hours at Home Depot, scouring amazon and racking our brains to come up with the “perfect” supplies and design for our home. We also are lucky enough to have my dad working for a cabinet company, so my dream teal-ish cabinets are finally becoming a reality!

Thank goodness Home Depot is dog friendly!!
Thank goodness Home Depot is dog friendly!!

Lucky for me Jake is well versed in building or this could be a disaster, because I would never have thought about all of the ridiculous things that you have to buy to build a house. I mean tankless water heaters, plumbing tubes, blah blah blah….Jake has had this all covered. I am more of a “this is what I want it to look like and this is what I know I want in my house” kind of builder. Thank goodness for Jake who takes all of the ideas that come into my head and I spit out in nonsense sentences, mixes them with his ideas and incorporates them into our home. For example: I really wanted a full sized double oven in our tiny house and VOILA is was incorporated into the blueprint, fitting perfectly in our U-shaped kitchen. However, I do bring some things to the table. I will in charge of all things sewing and white washing, so couch cushions and inside walls you will be mine!

The first of the Home Depot shipments has arrived! Plywood, nails, insulation, white wash, corrugated metal, inside wood, you name it!
The first of the Home Depot shipments has arrived! Plywood, nails, insulation, white wash, corrugated metal, inside wood, you name it!

For those wondering our design premise is a log house/farmhouse feel. The outside will be round log-looking cedar siding, and the inside walls will be a mix or corrugated metal and white washed cedar with hemlock flooring. There will be old mixed with new and it will (in our heads at least) be absolutly perfect!

Leave a Reply

